Marvelous Meatloaf

I have been feeding Oreo homemade food for quite some time now and have seen great results. When I first started researching recipes for dog food, I found it incredibly overwhelming. Many books had very detailed recipes that would take hours to concoct with many different supplements and exact details for amounts and percentages. I almost gave up on deciding to do homemade, but realized I can’t be exact all the time with everything and supplements will help. Some days I also feed her kibble, treats, and different supplements to ensure she is getting what she needs. It’s also important to remember that dogs at different ages need different types of food and supplements.

As for the cost, some people say it’s cheaper, some more expensive. It depends on what foods you are buying, where, and how many dogs you have. I like to make big batches (at least 2 weeks worth) of dog food so that I don’t have to make it all the time (it can be time consuming-cooks for 30 min but can take 10-20 minutes to create, then you have to cool, cut, and put in baggies). Different websites and books say dogs should have different amounts of protein, carbohydrates, fat, vitamins, and minerals. I am not going to recommend a certain percent, but suggest you do your research with a mix of different websites, books, or talk to a nutritionist. Make sure you remember food that dogs are allergic to such as onions, raisins, grapes, chocolate, etc.

I usually make my meatloaf recipe like this:

I buy a few pounds of ground turkey and ground beef (make sure it’s not too fatty).

I make 2 separate bowls (one with each kind of meat)and put some kind of green vegetable (broccoli, zucchini, etc). Make sure to blend to make it small so it’s easy to digest. Some people say no veggies for dogs, but I add a few.

I also make brown rice

I mix them all together and make it like a meatloaf but in casserole pans with olive oil on the bottom so it doesn’t stick. I put them in the oven for around 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

I let it cool then put it in baggies and freeze most of it.

When feeding, I add virgin organic coconut oil (a substitute to fish oil since she is allergic), I also add calcium supplement (powder), and probiotic.

She LOVES it! If you have any suggestions on something I may be missing feel free to let me know!

Obviously, most of my recipes (at least 80-90%) is meat, then a small amount of carbs (rice) and an even smaller amount of veggies).

Sometimes I also add spices such as parsley.

What do you feed your dog?

2 thoughts on “Marvelous Meatloaf

Leave a Reply

